All Women's Talk

2008 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominations

By Fashion

The nominations for the 2008 CFDA Fashion Awards were announced yesterday.

The nominees are:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein
Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough of Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year
Tom Ford
Thom Browne
Michael Bastian

Accessory Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Michael Kors
Tory Burch

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Kate and Laura Mulleavy of Rodarte
Alexander Wang
Thakoon Panichgul

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Scott Sternberg of Band of Outsiders
Tim Hamilton
Patrick Ervell

International Award
Dries Van Noten

The event will take place on the 2 June, and this years theme is Superheroes: Fashion and Fantasy. Think Jessica Alba as Sue Storm in The Fanastic Four, Halle Berry as Catwoman.

Past themes have included Dangerous Liaisons in 2004, House of Chanel in 2005, Anglomania in 2006, in honour of Paul Poiret last year.

This event is very much the Oscars of Fashion, so the red carpet is always glittering with fantastic ensembles. A good of what celebrities are wearing is who they turn up with. Last year Donatella Versace arrived with Hilary Swank in Versace, of course.

Via WWD & Via Celebrity Pictures, Entertainment News Photo ...

Please rate this article